Microsoft Dynamics 365 Setup – Creating, Modifying, and Sharing Personal Views

Personal Views are extremely important to collaborating and using Dynamics 365 data. This is a pretty straightforward feature to work with, and easy enough for all users (even non-admins) to manage. Read on for the basics of creating, modifying, and sharing a personal view in Microsoft Dynamics 365.

Creating a Personal View

Try starting with an existing System or another Personal View to create a new one. If an existing view has a majority of the information you’re looking for – start from there. It saves you from having to add as many columns. Below is a list of All Leads. I’ll use this view to create a new personal view of Leads where status = new. I’ll start by applying a filter to the Status Reason column.

Personal View Microsoft Dynamics 365

Filtered View then returns a new list and I can use the command in the ribbon “Create view”

Personal View Microsoft Dynamics 365

Save it as a new view.

Personal View Microsoft Dynamics 365

And give it a name.

Personal View Microsoft Dynamics 365

Easy, right?!

Modifying a Personal View

To modify a personal view, use the Advanced Find functions. Open “Advanced Find” in the command bar then find the right view to adjust.

Personal View Microsoft Dynamics 365
Personal View Microsoft Dynamics 365

To add columns, pick “Edit Columns”

Personal View Microsoft Dynamics 365

From here you can add, remove, move, and change the width of columns based on the options on this screen.

Personal View Microsoft Dynamics 365

Be sure to save changes. You can also change filter information or “Save As” and create a new view.

Sharing a Personal View

To share a personal view, also start from the advanced find area. Chose the “Saved Views” option.

Personal View Microsoft Dynamics 365

Highlight the view to share and in the Collaborate area use the “Share” option, then “add a user or team”

Personal View Microsoft Dynamics 365

Here you choose the actions you’re other users will be able to make to the shared list. Commonly:

  • Read – User can see and use the view
  • Write – User can modify the view
  • Delete – User can delete the view
  • Append – User can apply the view to other areas
  • Assign – User can make another user the owner of this view
  • Share – User can perform this same share option with other users

By Erin Karatkiewicz, Dynamics 365 Application Consultant, Dyn365Pros, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Partner, San Diego, Southern California.

Still confused?

Don't sweat it. We have experts helping teams just like yours to be successful with Dynamics 365.